5 things girls who are “one of the boys” know a little too much

One of the boys.

I can’t even remember how many times people said that to me. I grew up with my brother so I know how guys roll. Or at least I think I do. I want to believe that I can speak their language. Lol.
For a girl who is close to her guy sibling, it’s not hard to get close to other guys too. In a way, guys are easier to be friends with. Less drama.
Being one of the boys have their advantages but it also gives people different ideas about you. Things that I know a little too well. Others are understandable, others are just a little too ridiculous.

1. Every guy you hang out with is either a boyfriend or a date

Being one of the boys mean you hang out with guys more than you hang out with girls. Going to dinner with a guy is a normal Saturday night. For us anyway. Just because a girl and a guy is seen together does not mean they’re “together”.. It’s just dinner. People eat. We’re people. Ergo, it’s just dinner.

2. You are either a lesbian or a flirt

My mother thought I was a lesbian at some point of my highschool life since I was wearing baggy jeans, shirts that are 3x my size and was always hanging out with guys. Her favorite line was… “Tomboy man ka!”
You are a tomboy…” (In the philippines, tomboy and lesbian is the same thing for most people)
If you’re not a tomboy, you’re a flirt. Since I proved that I was straight due to my 6-year long term relationship with a guy, people thought I was such a flirt. That comment pissed me off when I was younger but looking back, it’s so ridiculous. I didn’t even know I knew how to flirt. I guess people thought I did. Awesome.

3. People ask you why it never worked out with a friend. Or friends.

People asked me this about 4 of my close guy friends.
“Why didn’t you become a couple?” “We’re just friends.”
“But you are sooo close.”                  “We’re just friends.”
“You’re always hanging out and you look good together..”      “We’re just friends.”
You can be a couple if you chose to..”     “We’re just friends.”

You don’t need to have a romantic relationship with all the guys that you are close with. If that’s the case, girls who are one of the boys will be 3-timers or even 5-timers. C’mon.

4. Your guy friends talk like you don’t exist. Or you’re not an actual girl.

My guy friends talk with no sensors when I’m with them. Seriously, no sensors. No filters. They’ll talk about their sexcapades like no girl is in the room. It makes you feel appreciative that they are so candid with you around but sometimes it’s insulting when they talk nasty about girls. It’s hair-standing-on-end kind of moment too when they go into the details.. What’s worse is when they talk about girls that you actually know. Guys talk. Trust me.

5. Girlfriends get jealous of you and vice versa

I didn’t know this until my close guy friend revealed that 4 out of 5 of his girlfriends was actually jealous of me. They had no reason to be.
When this happens though, I distance myself out of respect for the girl but they usually confess during breakups. Great. One of my guy friends who change girlfriends about every other month already has a script. When a girl says yes to him, he tells the girl about me and how she doesn’t have to be jealous and then introduces me to the girl. Same goes when I have a boyfriend. Orientation is a must.
Sometimes it works, sometimes it backfires. How? Go back to # 1… 🙂

These are just a few things that has happened to me for all the years that I have been me. Meaning, all my life.
It’s fun being one of the boys but sometimes it’s not worth the argument with loved ones. Explaining is just too exhausting sometimes.

What I believe though, if a guy truly loves you, he’ll accept you for who you are. You need not explain being you. Guys who truly love you would understand that they’re not the only guy in your life.. 🙂

one of the boys

Leave a comment