Insomnia, you’re always on my mind…

5:17am

Facepalm.

Image

Last time I checked, it was still 2:30am.

I can’t sleep. Looking at the clock now, it seems like its taunting me… Mocking me…

Stupid clock.

Why can’t I sleep?  “Maybe because you’re thinking about blogging about it and now you’re actually doing it?”

My brother’s voice echos in my ear. Sheesh! Brothers. Sarcastic Genius.

Okay, so we all have those moments when our body wants to sleep but our mind has other plans.
Mentally going through tomorrow’s to-do list, thinking about what to prepare and how to prepare it. Endless list of thoughts.

No one’s the wiser too. It can happen to anybody. Student, mothers, businessmen, anybody!

So Insomnia, we all have those nights. In my case, weeks.
I have done quite a few things which I thought would help (obviously didn’t) but hey, it might help you. Might as well be of some use, huh?

1. Listening to relaxing music

There are a lot of songs that you can choose from on youtube and they’re pretty good. Some are true to their word because it relaxes you; others just makes you want to pee.

2. Count sheeps

I counted them one by one, by twos and by group. Even counted them while they were jumping on a cloud backwards. Tried counting rabbits and cows too. Okay, maybe just the cow but it still didn’t work! I might need to try counting all the animals that were on Noah’s ark.

3. Make yourself super tired

I danced. Alot. I was so exhausted that I was excited to go to sleep. To my dismay. My mind somehow convinced me that it was only my body that did the dance ergo my body was tired, my mind wasn’t. grrr…

4. Eat. Like alot, before going to bed

Yes, I know this is not healthy but I’m desperate! But not desperate enough to take pills, just want to clear that out. Besides, the pharmacy is close this time of day. You know the pig syndrome? Where after eating, it somehow makes you sleepy and you actually do? Was sooo hoping for that but again, to no avail.

5. Read

I love reading novels especially before I go to sleep (way way back) because it makes me doze off. So I read a leadership book (mature choice of book, huh?)which is suppose to be boring so it would be more effective than novels. But lo and behold! I love the damn book. It was so enlightening and interesting that I ended up reading 5 chapters instead of the original 3-paged plan.

You may advice me to drink warm milk, done that, no go. Others may want me to meditate, done. I even heard others advising me to have a different and best kind of exercise in bed (if you know what I mean); I don’t even want to comment on that.

Oh well. These techniques may not have worked for me but who knows? It might work for you.

As for me, I’ll give counting sheep another try. But maybe this time, I’ll count topless Ryan Reynolds jumping, okay, that’s gay. Maybe counting thousands of topless Ryan Reynolds slowly walking towards me.
If that’s not worth sleeping and dreaming over, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

